We are committed to supporting talented young people who have the potential to benefit from and contribute to the legal profession. Our aim is to ensure that if you have drive and talent, money will not be a barrier to becoming a solicitor in Scotland. We will give priority to individuals from less advantaged backgrounds. So your social and economic situation will be taken into consideration.

Please note that applications for 2018 are now closed.


 In order to be eligible to apply, you need to be able to answer yes to the following questions:

  •  Do you have an offer to study law (known as the LLB) at a Scottish university starting in the coming year?
  •  Is your parental /guardian total annual income under £34,000 and /or do your circumstances mean you would be unable to attend university due to your financial situation?
  •  Are you currently at school, or have left school within the last 2 years (but not currently attending university)?                                                                                                                                

 Once we receive your application, we will then consider all of the information provided before deciding who to make an offer of a bursary to.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             *In order to apply you must have a place to study law (known as the LLB) at one of the ten universities accredited by the Law Society of Scotland (see list below.) If you have a conditional offer, we recommend you apply and the offer of a bursary will be conditional on the offer of a place on the LLB course.

The universities accredited to offer the LLB in Scotland are:

  • The University of Aberdeen
  • The University of Abertay
  • The University of Dundee
  • The University of Edinburgh
  • Edinburgh Napier University
  • The University of Glasgow
  • Glasgow Caledonian University
  • Robert Gordon University
  • The University of Stirling
  • The University of Strathclyde